TYPHOON!

As I sit here late Thursday night, there’s some  weather afoot that I haven’t witnessed since New Orleans. Fierce winds are howling through the hostel, and a constant rain is thumping whatever dares venture outside. My first typhoon!

I have no idea what to expect, but from what I hear and read, typhoons are less destructive than hurricanes but worse than having a bee in your dining room. So make of that what you will. Whatever, it sure looks impressive.

Typhoon

Oh, and if you’re wondering, Pacific typhoons move from east to west, so the best is yet to come.

A couple of notes/thoughts:

  • The Kaohsiung government (and most other local governments) have declared tomorrow (Friday) a Typhoon Day, which means offices and schools are closed. No work for me!
  • I still get paid for said Typhoon Day.
  • If this typhoon was going to hit us, and I still get paid for typhoon days, why must it make landfall on a Friday and wreak havoc on my weekend? In the words of my dear friend and cynic Jamie Rinando, “The world is cruel and ironic.”

More to come as this story develops…

~ by Nick on August 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “TYPHOON!”

  1. I do enjoy stories with pictures! Enjoy your typhoon! Take care of yourself… we expect a full report.

  2. […] and boating is not too encouraged in these conditions. So, we’re stuck here. But as I said a couple of nights ago, typhoons aren’t as strong or as powerful as hurricanes. So there’s really not that […]

Leave a comment