It’s a good thing I’m not paid to blog

"Lord, grant me the strength to write more."

Perhaps you noticed that there was a little gap in there between posts recently. Like, almost two months. Uh, whoops. You have my sincerest apologies. Apparently keeping this here blog updated on a regular basis isn’t as easy as I once believed.

When I first got here, you see, it was much easier to write regularly – I didn’t have that many friends, didn’t have that much to do, and everywhere I looked there was something new or strange or wacky or mind-blowing to my little American brain that I just had to tell you all about.

Well, nearly nine (nine!) months have passed since I first arrived here in Taiwan. And, as will happen with these sorts of things, I somehow got a little life going on here. I’ve become friends with a few more people, and as such, know about more things to do at more times – and these things preclude me from sitting in front of my computer and coherently spitting out the self-serving drivel you’ve become accustomed to here.

Also – and it’s surreal to even think about this – I’m alarmingly settled in here in Kaohsiung, and I somehow seem to be accustomed to everything around me these days. All the things that seemed crazy or ridiculous or odd or cute eight or nine months ago, are perfectly normal to me now. The entire families on scooters, the singing garbage trucks, the temples everywhere, the night markets, even the Engrish (gasp!) are all just peripheral pieces of my life here at which I no longer even bat an eye.

BUT, this is a crime – a crime, I say! – to you, the dear reader. I started this blog for both of us, not just for me. People wanted to know what it was like to live in Asia, and I have failed you in this regard lately. Again, I am sorry.

I know I’ve said this before, but I vow here and now to be better at this. I’ll make time to write, and I’ll try to keep you up-to-date with things going on here. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought to myself, “Oh, I need to write about this in the blog.” And then I never do. It makes me angry at myself.

I’ve missed writing. I’m gonna hold myself to this. Now, it may only be once or twice a week, and I hope that’s ok with you. It’s better than once every two months. You dear readers deserve to see what I see, even if it’s only through my poor prose. And so, I will show it to you.

Even the singing garbage trucks.

~ by Nick on March 30, 2010.

6 Responses to “It’s a good thing I’m not paid to blog”

  1. Hey Nick, now you are probably starting to understand why I’m not so regular with my blog. I’ve been in Japan almost 4 years!

    Gary

  2. WOW! What an awesome picture. The person that took it must be an amazing photogrpaher. You should have paid them.

  3. *photographer

  4. […] singing in a band? As I mentioned earlier this week, my blogging has become less frequent for a variety of reasons, but principally, because I’m […]

  5. I happened to see this blog tonight for a forgotten reason. I am hoping to go to Colombia, which is also a very different culture from here (Taiwan.) I really hope I will get to write down all the stuff to be happening there! BTW, you look really familiar though! I wasn’t able to remember if I’ve met ya…Anyway, “Happy Blogging!”

  6. Ah, the life of the blogger. Found your post extremely engaging and frank. Despite the popularity of blogging, seldom does anyone express the sometimes frustrating and unmotivating world of blogging. Happy Blogging Dude!

    http://whackthehippo.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
