Engrish / Chinese Insanity #7 – Christmas Card edition!

Asia in general is known for its… amusing… ways of translating things into English. Store names, product slogans, t-shirts… you name it. I’ve been trying to document all the “Engrish” I’ve seen in Taiwan for my own amusement, but it occurs to me that you, the good strong reader, might want to be amused as well. And so this is a semi-regular installment here on Nick in Asia – not to poke fun, mind you, but belly laughing a few times is always good for the soul.

As I mentioned in my triumphant return blog, I sent out Christmas cards to a few people this holiday season. Usually, I’m not really the Christmas card type. There’s so much writing and effort involved. And then you have to mail them, and that usually involves some combination of addressing envelopes and buying stamps and wearing pants.

But this Christmas was obviously a little different. I actually wanted to send out Christmas cards – I think it was a way for me to fight through my homesickness, as well to feel like I was really keeping in touch with people back home. Facebook’s all well and good, but it’s always nice to receive an actual card or letter in the mail. It shows that someone really was thinking about you, and that they went to the effort of putting on pants to do it.

So a couple weeks before Christmas, I set out to find some Christmas cards, and I had a revelation: I’m in Asia. There’s Engrish and other wackiness all around me; surely, I can find a few wonderfully insane cards to send to folks back home. I went to a huge stationary store (don’t think of like a Hallmark store in the mall; these stores are all two or three floors, and they sell everything – think of Staples mixed with Michael’s, with a dash of some good old-fashioned Asian nuttiness mixed in). I found the Christmas card area and went to work. Within about half an hour, I’d found some gems. The rest is history: I just used the same six cards a few times. They were too good to branch out to anything else. Some had straight up Engrish; some had insanity; some had cats; one even had a pantsless Santa and Rudolph being held up at gunpoint. All of them brought me great joy and filled my soul with a holiday tingle I’d never felt before.

I hope they make you feel the same. See them all after the jump (complete with transcriptions of the Engrish)!


~ by Nick on January 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Engrish / Chinese Insanity #7 – Christmas Card edition!”

  1. I think I received the best two cards. Mele kalikimaka, friend.

  2. I was just wondering…where’s my card?

Leave a Reply

 
