The Computer’s Out of Commission

office-space

In case you’ve been dearly missing me – and I’m oh-so-certain you have been – let me explain. This isn’t one of those “I’m busy and I can’t find the time to blog” excuses… nosireebob. The sad truth is, my trusty and beloved computer has gone on life support.

You see, after signing offline last Wednesday night, I woke up last Thursday morning, and, as I tend to do most mornings, I pressed the power button on the ole computron… and nothing happened. I thought maybe my eyes were simply tired, or perhaps my fingers has lost some of their previous ferocity. But no, it was true – my computer was dead.

And as of right now, it still is. I took it to a shop on what is known as “Computer Street.” I think I trust these people – it’s a licensed HP retailer – but who really knows? Initially, I thought the problem was my battery, but this shop’s little tests (i.e., plugging other batteries into my computer) showed otherwise. Shoulders slumped, I accepted their diagnosis, and have now been without my trusty device for nearly six days.

Are they telling the truth? Who knows? Are they ripping me off? Who knows? Are they werewolves? Who knows? All I know is that they told me it would be about a week, and that puts us at T-minus two days. Anything more than that will be saddening and rage-inducing. And nobody wants that.

Now, you may be asking, “How in the tarnation are you blogging without a computer?” Well, the answer is simple – Adam’s been gracious enough to let me use his from time to time. But I feel bad using it to write an extensive post. So we should probably end this here.

BUT – and I kid you not – there are good things awaiting you when the ole, beloved computron is back. And when that happens, we will be so happy, we do the dance of joy!

~ by Nick on October 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
